Serving The Online Tennis Community

Grand Slams

The Grand Slams are the four most prestigious competitions in tennis.

To win all four events in one calendar year is known as completing the ‘Grand Slam’. Very few players have done this, Donald Budge (1938) and Rod Laver (1962 and 1969) are the only men to have achieved it, Margaret Court (1970), Maureen Connelly (1953) and Steffi Graf (1988) the only women.

Roger Federer is the last player to have won a career Grand Slam (all 4 titles but in different years).

Australian Open

The Australian Open is the first Grand Slam event of the year. The event is played at Melbourne Park, Melbourne on Rebound Ace.

January 17th – January 30th 2011
2011 Novak Djokovic (Srb) Kim Clijsters (Bel)
2010 Roger Federer (Sui) Serena Williams (USA)
2009 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Serena Williams (USA)
2008 Novak Djokovic (Srb) Maria Sharapova (Rus)
2007 Roger Federer (Sui) Serena Williams (USA)
2006 Roger Federer (Sui) Amelie Mauresmo (Fra)
2005 Marat Safin (Rus) Serena Williams (USA)
2004 Roger Federer (Sui) Justine Henin (Bel)
2003 Andre Agassi (USA) Serena Williams (USA)
2002 Thomas Johansson (Swe) Jennifer Capriati (USA)

French Open

The French Open is the second Grand Slam event of the year. The event is played at Roland Garros, Paris on Clay.

May 23th – June 5th 2011
2010 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Francesca Schiavone (Ita)
2009 Roger Federer (Sui) Svetlana Kuznetsova (Rus)
2008 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Ana Ivanovic (Srb)
2007 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Justine Henin (Bel)
2006 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Justine Henin (Bel)
2005 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Justine Henin (Bel)
2004 Gaston Gaudio (Arg) Anastasia Myskina (Rus)
2003 Juan Carlos Ferrero (Spa) Justine Henin (Bel)
2002 Albert Costa (Spa) Serena Williams (USA)
2001 Gustavo Kuerten (Bra) Jennifer Capriati (USA)


Wimbledon is widely recognised as the most prestigious tennis tournament in the world. First staged in 1877 it is the oldest and most traditional tennis tournament of all.

June 20th – July 3rd 2011
2010 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Serena Williams (USA)
2009 Roger Federer (Sui) Serena Williams (USA)
2008 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Venus Williams (USA)
2007 Roger Federer (Sui) Venus Williams (USA)
2006 Roger Federer (Sui) Amelie Mauresmo (Fra)
2005 Roger Federer (Sui) Venus Williams (USA)
2004 Roger Federer (Sui) Maria Sharapova (Rus)
2003 Roger Federer (Sui) Serena Williams (USA)
2002 Lleyton Hewitt (Aus) Serena Williams (USA)
2001 Goran Ivanisevic (Cro) Venus Williams (USA)

U.S. Open

The US Open is the last Grand Slam in the tennis calendar. It’s held at the USTA Tennis Center in Flushing Meadows in Queens, New York and played on Decoturf. The US Open boasts the largest tennis stadium in the world, opened in 1997 the Arthur Ashe stadium seats 23,000 fans.

August 29th – September 11th 2011
2010 Rafael Nadal (Spa) Serena Williams (USA)
2009 Juan Martin Del Potro (Arg) Kim Clijsters (Bel)
2008 Roger Federer (Sui) Serena Williams (USA)
2007 Roger Federer (Sui) Justine Henin (Bel)
2006 Roger Federer (Sui) Maria Sharapova (Rus)
2005 Roger Federer (Sui) Kim Clijsters (Bel)
2004 Roger Federer (Sui) Svetlana Kuznetsova (Rus)
2003 Andy Roddick (USA) Justine Henin-Hardenne (Bel)
2002 Pete Sampras (USA) Serena Williams (USA)
2001 Lleyton Hewitt (Aus) Venus Williams (USA)